Review Spotlight

review spotlightHere are some of my favorite reviews. Mostly the good ones, and the hilarious ones. Would you like to see your review spotlighted here? Or a photo of you reading one of my books? Send it to me at lisemcc at gmail dot com!

Today’s favorite

new-plan-x-10-15-ebookPLAN X: A Rory Tate Thriller

5.0 out of 5 starsVery pleased with delivery earlier then scheduled

Very pleased with delivery earlier then scheduled, price and quality of the sheet set I ordered. I also separately order extra pillowcases that go with the set. They all arrived the same day. I will definitely order again from this seller.
Beat Slay Love
on November 21, 2015
Such a fun romp! Couldn’t wait to start sharing it with my friends. Perfect holiday gift for your foodie and mystery fans.
An Amazon.uk review for Blackbird Fly
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
As soon as downloaded this book for bookclub, I looked to make sure it had downloaded, got hooked and could not put it down. Wonderful!

A Review of PLAN X on Amazon UK

5.0 out of 5 starsDarn it, I loved it! 30 Aug. 2013    By Mr. P. Turnbull
PLAN X (Rory Tate Thrillers) This is genuinely one I couldn’t stop reading. Took it to bed last night and didn’t get any sleep, I just had to keep reading. The main characters were brilliantly fleshed out and believable and the story just flowed. Quite a lot of investigative work with some conspiracy thrown in. A masterpiece.
Girl in the empty dress5.0 out of 5 stars Travel and suspense, April 7, 2015 By Chris Gibbs
This review is from: The Girl in the Empty Dress 
I love books where the action happens in foreign countries and which describe the characters/peculiarities of the inhabitants. Lise Mclendon does this extremely well in both her books of the Dordogne/France. The book is a page turner and it’s hard to put down. I can really recommend both of her books (Blackbird fly and the Girl in the Empty Dress).

new-jump-cut-8-144.0 out of 5 stars A Fun & Exciting Read  November 25, 2014     By Tom O. Powell

 This review is from: Jump Cut (Kindle Edition)
I could really give this story four-and-a-half stars, I enjoyed it so much. “Why?” you may ask. Well I’ll tell you.

I loved Mimi and her out-of-control life, though I’ll admit it did get depressing when EVERYTHING seemed to go wrong for her. I actually wanted to smack the younger, “hotter” girl reporter for what she did to Mimi, but she got what was coming to her. Served her right, too. Same with her scum ex-husband. I also liked Shad, the cop, and I was dying to know who was setting him up and how he’d get out of it. Mimi’s family was weird but funny and I liked all of them. Except her dad, who was a total loser, but he did do something good in the end. (Call me weird but I thought it was great when Maddie sang that song at the funeral – it just seemed fitting. Makes me want to use it for my own funeral!)

In conclusion, I do recommend this book. It seems to jump around sometimes (hence the title) but don’t give up cause it all comes together at the end. I thought it was a fun and exciting read. You should try it.

___________
What song did Maddie sing at the funeral? Brownie points!
___________
Girl-in-Empty-Dress-ebook-25.0 out of 5 stars The action is non-stop., March 19, 2015
This review is from: The Girl in the Empty Dress (Bennett Sisters Book 2) (Kindle Edition) 
While this is Book 2 of the Bennett Sisters books, it can stand alone. I enjoyed the interaction between the five sisters & their added friend on their vacation to France. This book is rife with tension. It’s ripe with romance. It’s about discovering which relationships matter. Cheese & wine tasting take up a lot of their time. Throw in a stolen dog, a stolen car, a disappearing sixth wheel, a kidnapped sister & priest & the action is non-stop.
__________
5.0 out of 5 starsOne O’Clock Jump-Keeps you Jumpin., September 21, 2012
By nane
This review is from: One O’clock Jump: a swing town mystery for the young at heart (Dorie Lennox Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have enjoyed this book immensley and look forward to more in this series. The forties era and the hard-nosed gumshoe feel to this book is very fun and to have such a strong heroine for a lead character instead of an inspid weak female makes me smile. Those gutsy women of the forties, those Rosie the Riveter strong females who took up the work force and made America strong are worth smiling over…Read the book!
_____________
There are all sorts of weirdo reviews of Blue Wolf over at Barnesandnoble.com. Apparently the “wolf” in the title attracts things that troll in the night. This one is real though. Forewarned! F bombs!

BlueWolfFrontCover✩✩ no1likesme  Posted August 22, 2014

 very confusing and verbally explicit

I found this book to be highly confusing. According to the B&N review it is in line with Nevada Barr. No way. The beginning wasn’t too bad but then toward the end the women started using the most awful language…and I don’t mean s–t, d–n, hell etc. Words that I didn’t think a woman would use. I am not a prude but is this really necessary? This is the first McClendon I have read but it will be my last.      Marianne

_________

 Also about Blue Wolf on BN.com — thank you, Anonymous!
5.0 out of 5 starsExciting, fun, informative
Anonymous
Anyone who loves the west, mountains, wolves, mystery, this is the book for them. I loved it…all irrelevant reviews aside.

__________

Also from BN.com

A Bennett Sisters novella
A Bennett Sisters novella

5.0 out of 5 starsbdlllcarroll     Posted December 21, 2014

 OOH-LA-LA I Need Wine This Christmas!   

Following on the heels of The Girl in the Empty Dress that was set in Paris, Give Him the Ooh la la  finds the Bennett sisters in New York City mere days before Christmas to throw an engagement party for their sister Annie, and to enjoy the holidays.  As they are getting ready for the engagement party to begin Pascal surprises Merle by flying in from France.  Is Pascal there to woo Merle or work?   Relatives, a drag queen, wine, espionage and holiday fun all combine to make this a Christmas to remember.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s