Looking for a Halloween read? Get inspired over at The Book Stop!

The Book Stop

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

I’ve always loved fantasy, and while I don’t always say I’m a horror fan, fantasy and horror are pretty similar genres. I practically grew up on Stephen King novels — the old ones like Firestarter and The Dead Zone. I think some of the best children’s books, like The Wizard of Oz, are the scariest ones. I think that’s because in a well-written book, fear is a journey. It’s not just ghosts and goblins, it’s facing challenges and building strength and finding out something new about yourself.  Scary stories take us out of our own lives and let us experience fear in a non-threatening way.

So, here’s to Halloween, and here are ten books (or authors) to put you in a Halloween kind of mood.

  1. Anything by Stephen King. My own favorite is

View original post 355 more words

One thought on “Top Ten Books to Get You in the Halloween Spirit

  1. I read SOMETHING WICKED THIS WAY COMES in Junior High … and was never the same. THE scariest book. Then, I read it again two years, via audiobook, and got scared all over again. Why do I do that to myself!! Thanks, Lise!

Leave a Reply

