Summer in the Rockies

jacksonhole100x100Summer means travel, sunshine, and reading… right?! I’m off to Jackson Hole this week for the writer’s conference. Working feverishly on the pre-conference workshop Truly Richly Deeply: Structure and Depth in the Novel, that Debby Atkinson and I are putting on this Wednesday. I read some good writing books this year and it’s always fun to share what I’ve learned. This year I uploaded all the critique work (every faculty member reads and critiques for attendees) onto my Kindle Fire. So convenient!

I’m also giving a talk about electronic & independent publishing (formerly known as self-publishing). After bitching (moi?)  to my pal and conference honcho, Tim Sandlin, he has relented and given me a session. The industry is a moving target these days but I hope to give a rough outline of the options available. Even though agents and editors are a big part of the conference I think there’s a place for indie pubbers, naturally, as I am one myself.

PLAN-X-ebook-final

Speaking of, the paperback of PLAN X is now available. It’s a hefty one, nearly 350 pages, a big, juicy thriller to read in the hammock. I designed the cover myself. This is approximately the 14th rendition and one I particularly like — so I stopped tinkering with it! That’s Cody Byrne, my main character, with her assault weapon from Iraq, and behind her is a big ass explosion that begins the book. That explosion is based on a real one in Bozeman several years ago that took out almost an entire city block downtown. Even if you’ve never been to Montana there’s something in this story for you, I promise!

Also available for your Kindle.

Happy summer, happy reading!

PS: Want to join my mailing list and hear about all the new stuff? Here you go.

Leave a Reply

